Australia Money







Australia Money


Money in Australia

There have been in Australia different type of currency which have been used since the arrival of the European settlers. 


Since 1966 the currency code of Australia is AUD, the Australian Dollar.


The abbreviation used for the Australia Dollars is $A, AU$, A$ or $AU. The Australian Dollar has been first introduced in February 1966 which replaced the Australian Pounds.


The first series of Australia Dollar issued were divided in $100, $50, $20, $10, $5, $2 and $1 and had as portraits on the one hundred dollars note on the front Douglas Mawson and on the back John Tebbutt,



on the front of the fifty dollars note was found Howard Florey and on the back Ian Clunies Ross, the twenty dollars note had on the front Charles Kingsford Smith and on the back Lawrence Hargrave, the ten dollars not had on front Francis Greenway and on back Henry Lawson,

on the front of the five dollars note Joseph Banks and on the back Caroline Chisholm, the two dollars note had on front John Macarthur and on the back William Farrer and on the one dollar note Queen Elizabeth II was on front and on back an aboriginal art designed by David Malangi.

Australia 100 Dollars Note



Australia was the first country in the world to introduce polypropylene polymer notes, the first was the $10 note issued in 1988 which was designed by Harry Williamson. All Australian banknotes are nowadays made in polymer. Note Printing Australia which is part of the Reverse Bank of Australia is the company that produces the Australian banknotes. Note Printing Australia is located in Melbourne.

Australia 50 Dollars Bank Note


The actual Australian Bank notes are as follows: the five dollars note having on front the Queen Elizabeth II and on back the Parliament House, the ten dollars note with Banjo Paterson on front and on back Dame Mary Gilmore, the twenty dollars note has in font Mary Reibey and on back Reverent John Flynn,

David Unaipton is on the front of the fifty dollars note and at the back Edith Cowan and on the one hundred dollars note you find on front Dame Nellie Melba and on back Sir John Monash. There is a five dollars which have been issued in January 2001 with on the front Henry Parkes and on the back Catherine Helen Spence.

Australia 20 Dollars Bank Note


The $10 banknote was issued in 1993, on November 1, the design belongs to Max Robinson. On the note’s top is the signature of GR Stevens and on the bottom the signature of KR Henry. The note having the 65x137 millimeters as size has the portrait of AB ‘Banjo’ Paterson (1864-1941) on front and the portrait of Dame Mary Gilmore (1865-1962) on back. Issued in 1994, on October 31, the $20 banknote has the same signatures as the $5 and the $20 banknotes. The designer is Garry Emery and the size is 65x144 millimeters. The portrait of Mary Reibey (1777-1855) is on the note’s front while on the back is the portrait of Reverend John Flynn (1880-1951). The RBA (Reserve Bank of Australia) is responsible for the issue, production and design of these banknotes. A group of consultants as well as the public decide who should appear on banknotes.

Australia 10 Dollars Bank Note


The $5 banknote was issued in 1967; it wasn’t issued sooner because it had no fix exchange rate with pounds like the $20 and the $1 banknotes. The $5 banknote was introduced after the familiarity of the public with the decimal currency. ‘Commonwealth of Australia’ is the title of the $5 notes issued in the 1966-1972 period, and the notes issued starting with 1973 have the ‘Australia’ title.

The current $5 banknote was issued in 1992, on July 7 and the re-colored version in 1995, on April 24. The designer of this note is Bruce Stewart and the size of the note is 65x130 millimeters. On the banknote’s front is the portrait of her majesty Queen Elizabeth II and on the back is a scene representing the old and new Parliament House. The current signatures on the $5 banknote are of GR Stevens on top and of KR Henry on bottom.

Australia 5 Dollars Bank Note


Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011