Australian Time







Australian Time



Time in Australian

The national government has given State and Territory governments the responsibility and authority to implement standard time in relation to the standard Coordinated Universal Time or UTC. The International Bureau of Weights and Measures provide basis for the application of standard time in Australia under the Commonwealth government’s National Measurement Act of 1960, specifically section 8AA. The National Standards Commission also has a say in time standardization. The commission is mainly responsible in giving the national government advice on technicalities involving the national measurement system. Just like in most countries, Australia is observing standard time. Because of its great scale and diverse geography, the nation-continent has a varied time system.



Three time zones are observed throughout Australia, namely: Eastern Standard Time or EST used in Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania, Queensland, Victoria, and New South Wales;

Western Standard Time or WST used in Western Australia; and Central Standard Time or CST used in Northern Territory and South Australia.

Australian Time

External territories also have different time zones. Australia first submitted itself into standard time in the last decade of the 19th century.

During that time, all British colonies adopted applicable standard times. Prior to the introduction of standard times in Australia, each of the country’s local municipalities had freedom to choose and implement its very own local time, also referred to as local mean time. Coordinated Universal Time was adopted and implemented only last September 2005. The Australian National Measurement Institute proposed the time adaptation in an effort to standardized local times.


The implementation of standard Australia time has helped the country eliminate or reduce the impact of the planet’s rotation rate, which have constant slight variations in relation to the applicable mean solar time. Australia time is also influenced and affected by the implementation of daylight savings time in certain states and territories. Annually, daylight savings time is rolled out and applied in the Australian Capital Territory, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and New South Wales. The state of Western Australia occasionally observes DST but still on a limited trial basis, while Northern Territory and Queensland are firm in resisting application of DST within their jurisdictions.

Tasmania subjected itself to DST in 1968, making it the first Australia state to embrace the daylight saving practice. DST is a practical strategy in effort of Australia (and other countries using the system) to generate cost and utility savings through adjustment of time. Office and business hours in DST states are adjusted so that more companies will be able to lengthen their daytime operations and shorten night functions to be able to save on consumption of electricity and other utilities. This energy saving strategy is mostly using measurement and standards of time. DST is also currently being used by other countries, especially those with diminishing energy sources.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011