Australia Time Zones







Australia Time Zones



Time Zones in Australia

Eastern Standard Time or EST is UTC + 10 hours. It is prevailing over the states of Queensland, Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Tasmania, and Victoria. Central Standard Time or CST is UTC + 9.5 hours.

It is observed across the Northern Territory and South Australia.

Lastly, Western Standard Time is UTC + 8 hours, implemented across the whole of Western Australia, the biggest state in the country.


Aside from the three major time zones, external territories are also using their own time zones. This is because such islands are geographically far from the main continent, making it obviously impractical to apply the three major Australia time zones to them.


All regions in the world adhere to uniform standard time. The concept of time zones is universally adopted by all countries. Each region on earth is designated local time.

Australia Time Zones

Conventionally, time zones are computed on local time as offset from UTC (Coordinated Universal Time---time standard mainly bases on TAI or International Atomic Time adhering to the mean solar time set at the Royal Observatory in Greenwich).
Australia is also observing time zones. The nation-continent is basically divided into six states and two territories. There are three Australia time zones, namely, Eastern Standard Time, Central Standard Time, and Western Standard Time. The territories of Norfolk Island; Australia Antarctic Territories of Casey, Davis, and Mawson; Christmas Island; Heard and McDonald Islands; and Cocos Islands all have varied time zones.


There are also usual and logical confusion brought about by Daylight Saving Time or DST. The implementation of DST varies among states and territories as well. The Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Tasmania, South Australia, and Victoria are regularly observing daylight saving time every year. Usually, time in implementing states are advanced by about an hour to facilitate energy saving daily by lengthening the daylight period observed in offices, workplaces, and other pertinent institutions.

If you are in Australia, or at least dealing with Australia businesses using Australian time, you should always remember that standard or daylight saving time is prevailing. Australians have strict sense of time. If you are to complete a business transaction, you are required to particularly perform and finish the mandated task by the specified time. All government offices are also strictly adhering to this time principle.

Each state in the country is also respecting and considering time used in jurisdictions of different states. For example, businesses in Queensland (EST) are fully considering time used in businesses in Western Australia (WST) and vice versa. When it comes to international business transactions, Australian businesses are also adhering and considering the time zones adopted and used in different regions in the world.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011