Australia Time Difference







Australia Time Difference



Time Difference in Australia

Australia Local time used in Perth is exactly eight hours ahead of the standard Greenwich Mean Time. Other cities and states across Australia are also advanced (but differently) to GMT.

If you want to know by how much time, you should explore more about Australia time zones that are prevailing in different regions across the country.


Since standard time was adopted by the country in 1890s, all states, territories and colonies of Australia have implemented their respective standard times. The nation-continent has three major time zones in reference to the GMT.


Australian Eastern Standard Time or AEST is 10 hours ahead of GMT.


It is prevailing over Victoria, New South Wales, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory, and Queensland.

Australia Time Difference

Australian Central Standard Time is 9.5 hours ahead of GMT. It is observed across the states of Northern Territory and South Australia. Lastly, Australian Western Standard Time, which is solely observed in Western Australia, is eight hours ahead of Greenwich Time.

Aside from the three major time zones, external territories are also using their own time zones. This is because such islands are geographically far from the main continent, making it obviously impractical to apply the three major Australia time zones to them.


The territories of Norfolk Island (11.5 hours ahead of GMT); Australia Antarctic Territories of Casey (8 hours ahead of GMT), Davis (7 hours ahead of GMT), and Mawson (6 hours ahead of GMT); Christmas Island (7 hours ahead of GMT); Heard and McDonald Islands (5 hours ahead of GMT); and Cocos Islands (6.5 hours ahead of GMT) all have varied time zones.

There are also specific Australian states that are observing daylight saving time. These are New South Wales, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory, South Australia, and Victoria. The Northern Territory and Queensland are not implementing and using daylight saving time, though the states had tried doing so in the past. In areas where daylight saving time prevails, time is usually further advanced by at least an hour to maximize daylight use and eventually generate cost savings and lower energy consumption.

There are several known anomalies and controversies involving Australia time difference. For one, there are island resorts in the northern portion of Queensland that are unofficially implementing daylight saving time on their events and activities. Broken Hill, a town in far-western portion of NSW is following time used in South Australia.

Some towns in Western Australia prefer to follow Central Western Standard Time, a modification of central and western standard times. That is because such towns are located at the border of Western Australia. South Australian towns of Mundrabilla, Eucla, Madura, and Border Village are also shifting away from state town zone and instead are using Central Western time.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011