Australia States







Australia States



States in Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia (the official name of Australia) occupies the entire Australian continent, the smallest in the world. The country also covers the Tasmanian island as well as other small islands across the Pacific and Indian Oceans. The country is comprised of six states, namely, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and Queensland. Australia also covers two mainland territories: the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.
New South Wales, situated in the southeast portion of the continent, is the oldest and so far most populated state in Australia. It was founded to comprise most of the mainland in 1788. In 1840, New Zealand was annexed by Great Britain as part of the state.



In the 19th century, large portions of the original NSW were separated successively to form British colonies of South Australia, Queensland, Tasmania and New Zealand. The capital city of the state is Sydney.
South Australia logically occupies the southern-central area of the country.

The state is known to cover most of the continent’s arid land areas. In history, South Australia was established as a freely settled and well planned British province, unlike most other states that were convict settlements. These days, the state remains freely vibrant and innovative culturally.

South Australia is noted for its fine wine and festivals. The capital city is Adelaide. Victoria occupies the southeastern area of Australia.

Australia States

The state is the smallest in the mainland, but is mostly urbanized and is densely populated. Victoria was a European farming community in the 1830s. In 1851, a gold reserve was discovered in the area, leading to the instant transformation of Victoria as a leading commercial and industrial center. It is currently the second most populated Australian state, following NSW. The capital city is Melbourne, where about 70% of Victorians reside.
Western Australia occupies a third of the continent, of course in the west. Thus, the state is the largest in the country and the second biggest subnational entity worldwide. Known for its rich biota, Western Australia fosters about 540 different species of birds, about 15 of which are exclusively found in the area.


People are colloquially called ‘sandgropers,’ a name of a type of insect usually found in sand dunes surrounding Perth, the capital city.Tasmania is a large island located south of the continent’s eastern side. The state covers not just the island but also other surrounding islands. The federal government is promoting Tasmania as the ‘Island of Inspiration’ and the Natural State, due to its unspoiled and large natural environment. The capital city of Hobart is also the biggest in the state.

Queensland occupies mainland’s northeastern section. This state is the second biggest in the country, in terms of land area, after Western Australia. It is also the third most populated, following NSW and Victoria. Because of its tropical climate, there were many banana plantations, giving its people the nickname ‘Banana Benders.’ In general, Queensland is called the Sunshine State because of its tropical and warm weather. Brisbane is the state capital city.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011