Australia Seasons







Australia Seasons



Seasons in Australia

Australia is nothing like any other country in the world.

It is the only continent whose terrain landscapes have not been changed by the earths’ upheaval. Like the lay of the land, the season in Australia vary in sequence from the norm.
Like all countries in the southern hemisphere, the seasons in Australia follow a different succession. Summer season is felt from December to February, followed by autumn from March to May.

The land is covered with snow in the season of winter from June to August and lastly, spring season from September to the end of November. Australian seasons commence on the initial day of the month unlike in most other countries seasons which begin on the twenty-first day.



The twenty-first day of December and June are the longest and shortest days respectively. Autumn and spring solstices are noted on the twenty-first of March and September.

Australia Seasons

With the season in Australia following this cycle, this means that Christmas is celebrated at the peak of summer. The mid-year break for students happens in the cold of winter.


Even though the four known calendar seasons have the same names as the northern hemisphere seasons, the weather experienced during these seasons vary differently from each other. Australia is normally an exceptionally dry place; hence summers can get a great deal hotter.

The pattern of rainfall is also unique with some places having copious rain at one time of the year followed by almost none at other times. In the northern part of the continent, Australian season has two well-defined phases.


These two distinct seasons are the wet season, which is roughly from April to November; and the dry, from November to April, with temperatures variances remaining to tropical conditions.


As far as the Australian seasons go, there are greater rainy days in autumn. An average of 12 days each in the months of March, April and May, experience rain and between seven and eight rainfall for the rest of the remaining months of the year.


Rainfall is normally light with an estimated 2.8 inches of rainwater per month in spring and to 5.3 inches in the season of autumn. Indigenous Australians have long had their own take on the seasons of Australia.


It is very different from the seasonal calendar brought by the British in 1788. The Jawoyn of the Northern Territory of Australia, distinguish six seasons.

Australian Seasons

The Jiorrk which equates for the wet season lasts from January to February. Bungarung, or the end of the rains, lasts from March to mid-April. Jungalk, the searing start of the dry period, lasts from mid-April to the end of May.

Malaparr, the cooler, middle part of the dry season, lasts from June to the end of August. Worrwopmi, the humid phase, lasts from September to the last days of October. Wakaringding, the humid instance when the initial rains begin to fall, lasts from November until the last days of December.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011