Australia Queen







Australia Queen



Queen Australia

Australia’s form of government is that of a constitutional monarchy. As such, it is headed by a monarch or queen, whom it also shares with the 15 realms of the Commonwealth within the Commonwealth of Nations.

Although sharing only one queen, each of the 53 countries belonging to the Commonwealth of Nations stands independently from one another. At present, the reigning queen of Australia and the other Commonwealth realms is Queen Elizabeth II, who has been on the throne since the 6th of February 1952.

Although serving many countries at the same time, the Queen regularly visits and has developed a close relationship with Australia, over the 57 long years she has held the crown.



She makes it appoint to visit all the various states and meet all their citizens from all walks of life and from all religions.

Australia Queen

Being a constitutional monarch, the Queen doesn’t really participate in every decision made by the Australian government.


Her role as a leader is more of symbolic and ceremonial, with her title of Elizabeth the Second,


by the Grace of God Queen of Australia and Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth.


For ceremonial purposes, the Queen is represented by the Governor-General of Australia as provided in the Australian Constitution.


She is also guided and counseled by the country’s Ministers of the Crown regarding issues and matters that concerns the Australian State.


Although sharing one same monarch or queen, no other government under the Commonwealth Nation can advise the queen on anything concerning Australia or any of the other member nations.


Since each member country is sovereign and independent from one another, Australia only pays the Queen for expenses concerning Australia.


Examples of these expenses are visits to the country and other countries as long as the business trip is for Australia’s benefit.


The Australian government will then pay for the Governors, the Governor-generals and the logistics of their travel such as accommodation, offices, travel fare and ceremonial occasions.

The Queen’s power includes the appointment of a Governor in all the states as stipulated in the Australia Act 1986.


The appointed Governor in turn chooses its executive bodies and the people that would constitute the Senate.


The governors are given authority to rule over the state that they handle. They carry out the will of the Queen, act in her behalf and hence, they are by no means subordinate to the Governor General of the Commonwealth.

Australia Queen Elizabeth



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011