Australia Cities







Australia Cities



Cities in Australia

Australia cities are one of the most coveted cities in the world. Australia is home to a number of cities belonging to the top 10 or top 20 most livable cities in the world as ascertained by prestigious global finance and economic magazines. To name a few that you surely have heard before, there’s Sydney, Perth, Melbourne and the country’s capital, Canberra. To give a better picture of these beautiful cities, we must look at their geographical and economic locations.


Australia is composed of six states and a couple of territories, which are in turn composed of several cities.


One of these cities is assigned as the state or the territory’s capital and usually serves as its financial and administrative hub.


The capital city serves as the seat of the government for the whole state or territory.

The two territories are the Australian Capital Territory, or ACT for short, and the Northern Territory. Meanwhile, the six Australian states are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia.


The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) is home to Australia’s capital city, which is Canberra, and in turn serves as Commonwealth of Australia’s capital territory.


The ACT, which is also popularly known as the “Bush Capital”, is a self-governing internal territory.

The second territory of Australia is the Northern Territory. It is a federal territory that is home to two lovely cities. Darwin and Palmerston. Darwin, which is the territory’s city capital, was named after Charles Darwin. People of this part of Australia are often called “Territorians”.

The state of New South Wales is home to the largest and maybe the most popular of all Australian cities.And yes, that’s Sydney. Also known as Harbour City, Sydney serves as the capital city of New South Wales.

Australia Cities


Other cities in this state are: Albury, Armidale, Bathurst, Blue Mountains, Broken Hill, Campbelltown, Cessnock, City of Bankstown, City of Blacktown, City of Botany Bay, City of Canada Bay, City of Canterbury, City of Coffs Harbour, City of Fairfield, City of Gosford, City of Greater Taree, City of Griffith, City of Hawkesbury, City of Holroyd, City of Hurstville, City of Lake Macquarie, City of Lismore, City of Lithgow, City of Maitland, City of Randwick, City of Rockdale, City of Ryde, City of Shellharbour, City of Shoalhaven, Dubbo, Goulburn, Grafton, Lithgow, Liverpool, Newcastle, Orange, Parramatta, Penrith, Queanbeyan, Tamworth, Wagga Wagga, and Wollongong.
Australian Cities

Next state is the state of Queensland, otherwise known as the Sunshine State because of the warm tropic weather it enjoys. The cities in this warm sunshiny state include the following: Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Caloundra, Charters Towers, Gladstone, Gold Coast, Hervey Bay, Ipswich, Logan City, Mackay, Maryborough, Mount Isa, Redcliffe, Redlands, Rockhampton, and Toowoomba. The capital city among these is Brisbane, which is also the largest one in this state.

South Australia, the most arid state, includes the following cities: Adelaide, Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln, Port Pirie, Victor Harbor, and Whyalla. Adelaide is its city capital.


The next Australian state is actually an island—Tasmania. Cities in this remarkable island are Burnie, City of Clarence, City of Glenorchy, City of Hobart, Devonport, Greater Hobart, and Launceston. Greater Hobart, being the island’s city capital. This beautiful island is billed as the “natural state” and is promoted as the “island of inspiration” because it is essentially untouched and pristine.

Victoria is the state that is home to another famous Australian City—Melbourne, which is also its capital. Other cities in this beautiful state are Ararat, Bairnsdale, Benalla, Ballarat, Bendigo, Belgrave, Dandenong, Frankston, Geelong, Hamilton, Horsham, Melton, Moe, Morwell, Mildura, Sale, Shepparton, Swan Hill, Traralgon, Wangaratta, Warrnambool, and Wodonga.

Last but not the least, is the state of Western Australia. With Perth leading the list as the state’s capital, here are the cities that follow: Albany, Armadale, Bayswater, Belmont, Bunbury, Canning, Cockburn, Fremantle, Geraldton-Greenough, Gosnells, Joondalup, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Mandurah, Melville, Nedlands, Rockingham, South Perth, Stirling, Subiaco, Swan, and Wanneroo.



Copyrights for all pictures on this site, it is and remains the property of

Australia Travel
   2006 - 2011